zondag 31 mei 2020

Published mei 31, 2020 by Ad-Vinylrecords with 0 comment

Status Quo - 1+9+8+2+ (1982) - €10,00

posted by albumsonvinyl

1+9+8+2 (official title in other sources as 1982), is the fifteenth studio album by the English rock band Status Quo, released on 16 April 1982.

It was the first to include new drummer Pete Kircher, who had recently replaced John Coghlan, and also the first to credit keyboard player Andy Bown as a full member of the band; on the previous few releases he had merely been listed as a guest musician although he had long been an integral member in all but name.
Its release came shortly before the band appeared at a concert at the National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, in the presence of the Prince of Wales, and the resulting publicity probably helped to send it to an entry position of No. 1 in the album chart, making it their fourth and last No. 1 album.

It can be (and often is) argued that Status Quo entered the 1980s as little more than a parody of the l'il ol' boogie band from Butlins that once so-dominated the U.K. charts. "Rocking All Over the World," almost five-years-earlier, was the peak of their endeavors; everything since then was little more than a parody (at best), or a warmed-up revival (at most). 1+9+8+2 didn't alter that dour scenario. Dominated by a relatively sincere recounting of "I Love Rock and Roll," and the "Dear John" single that became the band's umpteenth hit (and umpteenth soundalike), it rattles along inoffensively enough, but you cannot compare it with any of the band's greatest triumphs -- just one more album from the band that's been going forever, and if it's already a part of your Quo collection, betcha don't play it too often!

Nevertheless, it received a lukewarm reception from fans. "Dear John", the first single and the only track not written by any of the band, reached No. 10 in the UK, but "She Don't Fool Me" stalled at No. 36.
1982 was the 20th anniversary of band members Francis Rossi and Alan Lancaster first meeting each other, and the sum of the numbers 1+9+8+2 is 20 (shown as the Roman numerals 'XX' underneath the album title), hence the name of the album.

Side A
A1.  She Don’t Fool Me - 4:36
A2.  Young Pretender - 3:34
A3.  Get Out And Walk - 3:13
A4.  Jealousy - 2:55
A5.  I Love Rock ‘N’ RolL - 3:16

Side B
B1.  Resurrection - 3:49
B2.  Dear John - 3:14
B3.  Doesn’t Matter - 3:41
B4.  I Want The World To Know - 3:23
B5.  I Should Have Known - 3:31
B6.  Big Man - 3:45

Additional personnel
  • Bernie Frost – backing vocals
Companies, etc.

Release: 1982
Recorded:  Early 1982 at Mountain Studios, Montreux, Switzerland
Genre:  HardrockFormat:  LP
Label:  Vertigo Records
Catalog#  6302189

Vinyl:  Good
Cover:  Good

Prijs: €10,00


0 reacties:

Een reactie posten